Deleting an address book

Summary

You can delete address books that you no longer need or require, which is a good habit to get into as it keeps your address book lists free of clutter.

Deleting an address book also clears out the contacts that belonged to it - but it doesn't remove those contacts from the 'All contacts' address book.

Steps to delete an address book

  1. Select Contacts from the navigation bar to display your address books

    C_my_contacts_screen.png
  2. Use the checkboxes to the left of each address book to select ones you want to delete

    C_check_address_book.png
  3. Click on Delete, positioned next to 'More actions'.

    C_delete_address_book_button.pngYou're then prompted to click Delete again to confirm this action.

    C_delete_address_book_confirmation.png
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar

    Hello,

    Let's assume some contacts are contained in 2 address book (let's say address book A and B). If I delete address book A, do the duplicate contacts remain in address book B or are deleted also there?

    Thanks,
    Lara

  • Avatar

    Hi there, Lara

    Thanks for the question. Should you delete address book A, any duplicate contacts will remain in address book B. It's only if you deleted contacts from the 'All contacts' master address book (meaning you're deleting them from your account) would contacts get deleted from all the address books they're in. Hope this helps!

  • Avatar

    Hi, following on from this, how would we delete all contacts that aren't in a specific address book? We want to keep all the contacts that are in that address book (or in a number of address books), but delete all the others that are just under 'All Contacts'. Obviously we can't simply delete all the contacts in 'All Contacts'.