Suppressions overview

Overview

Whilst you can spend a lot of time making sure the right people get the right emails, it can also be just as important to make sure the wrong people don't get emails too.

This article looks to set you in the right direction and help you find what you need when it comes to suppressing contacts.

Before you start

Things you need to know:

  • When you suppress a contact, if they resubscribe themselves to your campaigns (or you choose to resubscribe them) they are not sent a resubscribe confirmation email. They are immediately added back into your All contacts list.
    If you'd like to have the contact the receive a confirmation email in order to subscribe themselves again, you can unsubscribe them instead. To learn more, check out Unsubscribe a contact.
  • Suppressed contacts do not count towards your contact allowance.

Ways to suppress contacts using the system

Our flexible suppression system allows you to have tight control over who does - and who doesn't - receive emails from your account.

The system can be used to:

You can make use of suppressions to temporarily, or permanently, stop contacts from receiving your emails.

Good to know

You can also use our segments tool to exclude contacts from specific campaign sends.
Did you find this article helpful?

Can we help?

Thanks for using Dotdigital. If you need more help or support, then contact our support team.