Chat contacts and message history

Learn to add and link chat sessions to email contacts, view chat history, export chats, and delete contacts right from inside the chat interface.

chat-interface-full.png


Anonymous contacts

First-time contacts and contacts with no data linked to them appear in chat as an anonymous contact. If a customer gives you their personal information, you can either add them as a new contact or link them to an existing contact in Engagement Cloud.


Adding a Chat user as a contact

To add a chat user to the Chat contacts address book in Engagement Cloud:

  1. On the chat interface, click the chat session you want to add a contact from – this opens the chat window.
  2. Click the pencil icon in the right column of the chat window.
  3. Enter your visitor's First name, Last name, and Email address.
  4. Click Save.

If you add a user to Chat that is already a suppressed contact in Engagement Cloud, then the user is not added to the Chat contacts address book. However, the contact’s information is still visible in the chat interface.

chat-adding-contact.png

Adding a chat visitor as a contact


Linking a Chat session to an existing contact

To link a Chat session to an existing contact:

  1. On the chat interface, click the chat session you want to link a contact from – this opens the chat window.
  2. Click the Contact actions drop-down menu in the right column of the Chat window.
  3. Click Link to existing contact.
  4. Enter the visitor's email address in the search box.
  5. Select the user’s email address to link the contact to.

When you link a chat session to a contact, the user is not added to the Chat contacts address book in Engagement Cloud. The user stays in the address books they were in before.

chat-linking-contact.png

Linking a chat visitor to a contact


Viewing a contact's message history

The message history lets you see all the chats, past and present, from your contact.

To view the message history of a contact:

  1. On the chat interface, click the chat session of the contact you want to view the history of – this opens the chat window.
  2. Click the Contact actions drop-down menu in the right column of the Chat window.
  3. Click View history.

chat-message-history.png

Viewing a chat visitor's message history


Exporting a contact and their chat history

When you export a contact, you download a zip file containing two files: a CSV file containing the contact's information and a JSON file of their chat history.

To export a contact’s information and message history:

  1. On the chat interface, click the chat session of the contact you want to export – this opens the chat window.
  2. Click the Contact actions drop-down menu in the right column of the chat window.
  3. Click Export contact, and wait on the Exports page until the status changes to Finished.
  4. Click Download — a zip file downloads to your local machine containing two files: the contact's information in CSV and their message history in JSON.
  5. Unzip the file to access either of the files.

chat-export.png

Exporting a chat visitor's contact information and message history


Deleting a contact

When you delete a contact using the chat interface, we remove the user from the whole of Engagement Cloud using our contact deletion protocol.

To delete a contact from Engagement Cloud using the chat interface:

  1. On the chat interface, click the chat session of the contact you want to delete – this opens the chat window.
  2. Click the Contact actions drop-down menu in the right column of the chat window.
  3. Click Delete contact.
  4. Read the warning message, confirm, and click Delete. If you change your mind, click Cancel.

chat-deleting-contact.png

Deleting a contact using chat

What happens after deleting a contact

Deleting a named contact moves them to the recycle bin for 30-days, after which Engagement Cloud removes them entirely from the platform. If you accidentally delete a contact, you can get them back from the recycle bin any time within the 30-day window – unless, you remove them from the recycle bin manually.

If you delete an anonymous contact, Engagement Cloud removes them permanently without using the recycle bin. There is no way to get an anonymous contact back.

 


 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments