Suppressed vs Unsubscribed contacts

Learn the difference between suppressed and unsubscribed contacts.

Suppressed contacts

When you suppress contacts, they will not receive any unintended communications from your account. It's best to think of suppression as a Do not contact status.

Suppressing a contact can only be done by you or a member of your team; contacts can't suppress themselves. You can unsuppress a contact manually at any point.

To learn about the different ways to suppress contacts, check out the article Suppressing contacts.

Unsubscribed contacts

Unsubscribed contacts are contacts who have decided they no longer want to receive some or all of your communications. Contacts can unsubscribe from individual marketing preferences or to all of your communications.

You can't resubscribe an unsubscribed contact without their verification.

Did you find this article helpful?

Can we help?

Thanks for using Dotdigital. If you need more help or support, then contact our support team.