Export your suppressed contacts

Suppressed contacts are those who have unsubscribed, bounced, ISP complained, or otherwise been removed from your lists.

Laura Russell avatar
Written by Laura Russell
Updated over a week ago

You can choose to export all suppressed contacts, only those suppressed on a specific channel, or with a particular suppression reason.


Export all suppressed contacts

  1. Go to Audience > Suppressions.

  2. Optionally, if you want to change which contact data fields are included in the export, select DISPLAY, and select the checkboxes for the contact data fields you wish to include, then select APPLY.

  3. Expand the MORE ACTIONS drop-down menu, and select Export all.
    If you or another user on the account have recently exported the same data set, you see a window with a message that informs you of this. You can select the previous export to return to the Exports screen, or select EXPORT AGAIN to continue with your new export.

  4. You're taken to the Exports screen. When your export is ready, the Status column displays Finished. Select Download.


Export contacts by channel

To export contacts suppressed either by email address only or mobile number only:

  1. Go to Audience > Suppressions.

  2. Optionally, if you want to change which contact data fields are included in the export, select DISPLAY, and select the checkboxes for the contact data fields you wish to include, then select APPLY.

  3. Select FILTER, then select radio button for the channel type you want to export. Leave the drop-down menu set to Show all suppression types.

  4. Select APPLY.

  5. Expand the MORE ACTIONS drop-down menu and select Export all.

  6. You're taken to the Exports screen. When your export is ready, Finished is displayed in the Status column. Select Download.


Export contacts based on suppression reason

To export suppressed contacts with a specific suppression reason:

  1. Go to Audience > Suppressions.

  2. Optionally, if you want to change which contact data fields are included in the export, select DISPLAY, and select the checkboxes for the contact data fields you wish to include, then select APPLY.

  3. Select FILTER, then select radio button for the channel type you want to export.

  4. Expand the suppression type drop-down menu for your selected channel type, then select the suppression type you want to export.

  5. Select APPLY.

  6. Expand the MORE ACTIONS drop-down menu and select Export all.

  7. You're taken to the Exports screen. When your export is ready, Finished is displayed in the Status column. Select Download.


Access your exported files

If you don’t want to download your exported suppressed contacts there and then, you can always do so at a later time. Exported files are stored for 30 days.

To do this:

  1. Expand the User menu and go to Settings > General > Exports.
    Your recently exported files are listed here, showing the date and time the file export was requested.

  2. Find the file you want and select Download.

Did this answer your question?