Suppressing email addresses

Overview

You can suppress emails addresses, as well as entire domains, so they don't receive anything that you send.

If you want to be more specific, you can also suppress email addresses for individual address books, instead of across all of your address books.

You can also reverse suppressions.

To add or view suppressions, go to Contacts > Suppressed contacts and pick the appropriate tab.

C_suppressed_contacts_tab.png

Suppressed contacts

The Suppressed contacts tab displays a list of all of your contacts who've unsubscribed from your communications, plus those who've been automatically unsubscribed by hard bouncing once, reaching their soft bounces limit or registering as an ISP spam complainant.

You can manually add a contact to this list by selecting New contact suppression. See the Adding suppressions section below for further detail.

Exporting or deleting a suppressed contact

You can export or permanently delete a suppressed contact by selecting their name, which will take you to the Manage contact view (which is limited to just previous activity for a suppressed contact).

Select the Contact actions drop-down menu and choose the required action.

C_contact_actions.png

Exporting a suppressed contact works in the same way as exporting a normal, unsuppressed contact.

You can also delete suppressed contacts individually or in bulk from under the Suppressed contacts tab.

To delete a contact individually, tick the box to the left of the contact's email address, and select Delete.

C_individual_deletion.png

If you want to delete multiple contacts at once (in bulk), tick the boxes next to the contacts you want to delete or select all.

C_bulk_deletion.png

Please note, deleting a suppressed contact differs to deleting a normal, unsuppressed contact, and before committing the action you'll be asked to confirm that you understand that: 

  • Deleting a suppressed contact will permanently remove their contact data fields and Insight data from my account (they will not go to the recycle bin)
  • The email address of the contact will be kept in order to maintain the suppression. This is so you can't unintentionally email them in future by accidentally re-importing them to your account, for example.
  • Any data related to this contact from the surveys and forms, landing pages, SMS or transactional email tools, if you use them, will not be removed. This data can be deleted separately.

An important note on GDPR compliance

When a suppressed contact asks you for the information you hold on them, it's called a 'Subject Access Request (SAR)'. This export action enables you to more fully comply with this request.

In order to fully comply, please remember that you'll still need to separately export any information that you may hold on a contact in our surveys and forms and SMS tools.

When a suppressed contact wants you to remove them from your system, they're exercising their 'right to be forgotten'. This delete action allows you to comply with this request (but remember to delete any other data you may hold, as mentioned above).

Suppressed domains

The Suppressed domains tab displays a list of all domains that have been suppressed. By adding suppression at a domain level, all email addresses in your address books for that domain are automatically suppressed. This saves you a lot of time when a company asks to be removed as a whole from your lists.

To add a new domain to this list, select New domain suppression. See the Adding suppressions section below for further detail.

To reverse the domain suppression, select the Delete button next to the relevant domain and then OK. However, any email addresses associated with the deleted domain won't be resubscribed back to your contacts. You can add contacts back by contacting support or by using the Resubscribe contact to address book with no challenge API call.

Adding suppressions

You can add suppressions via the New contact suppression and New domain suppression buttons.

These enable you to upload or manually add any email or domain addresses you would not like included in your campaign sends.

If you'd like to suppress contacts from a specific address book, please see the Adding suppressions to a specific address book only section below for further detail.

C_new_suppressions_file_removal.png

File removal - if you have a lot of email addresses and/or domains to suppress, you may prefer to do this via the upload of a CSV, TXT, Excel or ZIP file. Use the Choose file button to select the file on your computer.

You can enter an email address to be notified once the import has finished – this is particularly useful if you're uploading a large list.

Once you've selected your file, select Suppress this file from my account. Your entries are processed and a summary report is displayed.

Manually
- use this tab to enter email addresses individually.

Simply type the email address into the area provided. Enter only one email address per line, as shown in the example below.

C_add_domain_suppression_manually.png

When satisfied, click Suppress. Each of these email addresses will be added to your suppressed contacts list and excluded from any future sends.

If you wish to suppress all email addresses at one company, then simply add the domain instead, as shown below.

C_add_suppression_manually.png

Again, make sure there is only one entry per line. When ready, select Suppress.

Regardless of the method you choose, whether manually entering, pasting text, or uploading a file, email addresses suppressed will appear on your Suppressed contacts tab.

Domains will appear on your Suppressed domains tab and any email addresses relating to those domains will appear on your Suppressed contacts tab.

Suppression history and reversing suppressions

The Suppression history tab shows only manually imported file suppressions created in the last 30 days.

Please note that it doesn't show any manual suppressions you may have made by selecting More actions when inside an address book.

C_suppression_history.png

You can delete imported file suppressions from this list. It will result in the contacts being deleted from the whole system, although a message will inform you of this consequence before you complete the deletion.

You'll then need to add any contacts back to the address book or books they were previously part of in order to restore them and thus reverse the suppression.

Adding suppressions to an address book

You have the ability to upload or manually add any email addresses for suppression in a specific address book only. This has the advantage of not suppressing a contact or contacts across all of your account's address books, meaning they'll only be excluded from sends to that specific address book but will still able to receive campaigns sent to your other address books.

To do this, select Contacts > My contacts and then select the Properties icon next to the desired address book. This will open the address book for editing and changing its settings.

C_edit_add_book_suppressions_tab.png

Select the Suppressions tab. This tab will list all of the individual suppressions for this address book if there are any.

C_add_book_suppressions_list.png

Select New contact suppression to add your suppressions, either via a file or manually (just as detailed under Adding suppressions above).

Select Export and then Export all if you wish to export all of the address book's suppressions into a file.

Removing suppressions from an address book

To remove a suppressed contact or contacts from the address book and reinstate them, tick the contacts you wish to remove, select More actions and then select Remove suppressions.

You'll then need to add the contact back to the address book if you want them to receive sends to this specific address book again.

Did you find this article helpful?

Can we help?

Thanks for using Engagement Cloud. If you need more help or support, then contact our support team.