Export your suppressed email contacts

Learn to export the suppressed email contacts from your account.

Overview

Suppressed contacts are those who have unsubscribed, bounced, ISP complained, or otherwise been removed from your address books. It's possible to export this list of contacts as a CSV file.

You can choose to export all suppressed email contacts, or only those with a particular suppression reason, for example, those who have unsubscribed.

Export all suppressed contacts

To export all of your suppressed email contacts:

  1. Go to Email > Contacts > Suppressed contacts.
  2. Optional: If you want to change which contact data fields are included in the export, select <Display, and select the checkboxes for the contact data fields you wish to include, then select APPLY.
  3. Expand the Export drop-down menu, and select Export all suppressed contacts.
    If you or another user on the account have recently exported the same data set, you will see a window with a message that informs you of this. Select CONTINUE or CANCEL.
    export_warning.png
  4. You're taken to the Exports screen. When your export is ready, Finished is displayed in the Status column. Select Download.

Export contacts based on suppression reason

To export a subset of your suppressed email contacts:

  1. Go to Email > Contacts > Suppressed contacts.
  2. Optional: If you want to change which contact data fields are included in the export, select <Display, and select the checkboxes for the contact data fields you wish to include, then select APPLY.
  3. Select FILTER, then expand the suppression type drop-down menu and select the suppression type you want to export
  4. Select APPLY.
  5. Expand the Export drop-down menu, and select Export all suppressed contacts.
  6. You're taken to the Exports screen. When your export is ready, Finished is displayed in the Status column. Select Download.

Access your exported files

If you not to download your exported suppressed contacts there and then, you can always do so at a later time. Exported files are stored for 30 days.

To do this:

  1. Go to Settings (⋮) > Exports.
    Your recently exported files are listed here, showing the date and time the file export was requested.
  2. Find the file you want and select Download.

See also

Did you find this article helpful?

Can we help?

Thanks for using Dotdigital. If you need more help or support, then contact our support team.