Login verification FAQ

Contents

Why isn't my login verification link giving me access right away?
Why am I sent a verification email every time I try to log in?

Summary

Login verification is a security feature that uses cookies to store information about the device and the browser that you use to log into the app.

When you log in, you may have to verify that you own the account by clicking the link in the verification email we send you.

Email_verification.png

Receiving an SMS message instead?

If you receive an SMS message that contains a verification code, it means you have two-factor authentication enabled on your account.

After you click this link, information about the device and the browser you're using is saved in a cookie, and a new window opens to allow you to log in.

Why isn't my login verification link giving me access right away?

  • If you didn't open the verification link in the same browser as you originally tried to login with, you will be prompted to log in again, followed by a 'Verification' warning that you are using a different browser. From here, you can either copy the verification link and paste it into your preferred browser, or continue in the browser you're using.

    Diff.browserlogin2.png
  • If you log into two or more accounts, click the verification link in one account before trying to log into a second account.

Why am I sent a verification email every time I try to log in?

When you try to log in, we send a verification email in the following circumstances:

  • If you haven't logged in at all in the last 30 days.
  • If you're logging in from a different device.
  • If you're logging in from a different browser.

Check your browser settings and make sure that the browser isn't set to delete your cookies.

For example, in the latest version of the Google Chrome browser, you can check these settings by doing the following:

  1. Click the Chrome menu in the toolbar.
  2. Click Settings Advanced.
  3. In the 'Privacy and security' section, click Content Settings > Cookies.
  4. Check all your cookie settings, and make sure that the 'Keep local data only until you quit your browser' option isn't switched on.

If you have the the app's URL saved as a bookmark, check to make sure that it doesn't end with /U/, but if it does, the URL will take you to the 'Verify your login' page.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments