Using verified double opt-in

Overview

We can provide verified double opt-in when contacts opt in to your communications. An automated confirmation email is sent to your contacts and these contacts aren't added to your address books until they click the confirmation link in the email.

Double opt-in (DOI), also known as confirmed opt-in (COI), is regarded as best practice because it makes sure that contacts really want to receive your emails.

Double opt-in also protects you from the following:

  • Malicious opt-ins (for example, opt-ins that are made by spam bots)
  • Spam complaints

Enabling verified double opt-in by default

  1. Click the person-and-cog icon in the navigation bar
  2. Go to Account > Account settings
  3. Under the 'Regulatory settings' section, select any option, except 'Do not enforce double opt-in'
  4. Click Save settings

C_account_settings_regulatory_settings.png

Trigger double opt-in (DOI) emails

Using a sign up form from Pages and forms or Surveys & forms won’t trigger DOI emails, unless you choose Enforce double opt-in for all signups, including bulk uploads. This is because the process to import contacts from these kinds of forms is batched; it’s a bulk action.

You can customise the opt-in confirmation email that signups receive, or you can create your own triggered campaign to use as the opt-in confirmation email.

Customising your confirmation email

To customise your confirmation email, go to Contacts > Advanced features > Subscription settings.

Adding a company logo to the default confirmation email

Select Choose file to choose a logo.

The logo that you add here is also added to the default resubscribe confirmation email.

C_confirmation_email_logo.png

Click Preview to see both the default resubscribe confirmation email and the default verified double opt-in confirmation email.

C_double_opt_in_confirmation_email.png

Adjusting verified double opt-in settings

  1. Select the campaign to send. Leave this as Default to send the default confirmation email. If you want to send your own triggered verified double opt-in confirmation email, use the Campaign to send dropdown to choose one.
  2. Select a verified double opt-in action. This action happens after contacts click the confirmation link and complete the verified double opt-in process. The default selection is to 'Show some text', such as 'Thanks for the confirmation'. You can change this wording if you wish by editing it in the box provided. Alternatively, you can set the verified double opt-in action to 'Go to a page'. Enter the URL of the page in the box underneath, or you can use the dropdown below it instead to select a landing page you've created with our landing page tool.
  3. Select Save after making changes

C_double_opt_in_settings.png

Setting up a triggered campaign as your confirmation email

Information

External dynamic content and advanced personalisation can't be used in triggered campaigns for confirmation emails.

If you want to create your own confirmation email and control its content, rather than use the default one, then do the following:

  1. Create a triggered campaign
  2. Add a verified double opt-in link
  3. Select the newly triggered campaign as your confirmation email

What happens next?

  1. Depending on the option you chose in your account settings, your contacts are automatically sent either the default confirmation email or the triggered campaign that you selected
  2. Contacts won't appear in the address book until they've clicked on the confirmation link in the email. They will be be in a pending state until they do so and all pending contacts can be found under Contacts > Suppressed contacts > Pending contacts.
  3. After contacts click the confirmation link in the email, they'll see the message that you entered on the 'Double opt-in settings' page or they'll be taken to the page you selected on the 'Double opt-in settings' page
  4. At this point, they're added to the address book that you selected and their opt-in type is set to verified double

C_contact_verified_double.png

Pending contacts

Pending contacts are contacts who've been sent a verified double opt-in email but who've yet to click the confirmation link. You'll find these listed under Contacts > Suppressed contacts > Pending contacts.

pending_contacts.png

After they've clicked the confirmation link, they'll be removed from this page and added to your contacts.

Information on pending contacts is stored here until you either choose to manually delete contacts, or you can use the regulatory setting to automatically expire pending contacts 30 days after the date that they were last sent a verified double opt-in email. This helps keep your list manageable, and allows contacts to be re-added to the pending list and sent another round of verified double opt-in emails.

If a pending contact is deleted and they click a confirmation link after being deleted, they won't be added to your contacts. They'll need to sign up again and be sent a new verified double opt-in email.

Confirmation email limits

Contacts can be sent a maximum of four confirmation emails.

A contact can't be sent more than one confirmation email in a five-minute interval.

Did you find this article helpful?

Can we help?

Thanks for using Engagement Cloud. If you need more help or support, then contact our support team.