Learn to activate and deactivate your automated programs.
Programs can be in one of five states:
The state of any program at any time can be confirmed by looking at the Status column on the All programs page, where all of your programs are listed (deleted programs are not listed here, however - read Managing automated programs for more on states).
Activate a program
Whilst building a program, it's in a draft state. Once you're completely happy with your program, click Save > Activate. This will turn your program on and put it into an Active state.
A program can no longer be edited once activated.
If you have any outstanding validation errors, you'll be reminded of these at this point and you won't be able to activate your program until they're resolved.
Upon clicking Activate, your program will begin running. Although you'll no longer be able to edit it, you'll still be able to view your program by clicking on it in the All programs screen.
An active program will state that it's active in the information message at the top of the program builder canvas, and that it's enrolling new contacts and sending emails.
Deactivate a program
To deactivate a program, click on Deactivate this program in the toolbar.
If the program has ever enrolled any contacts, it will change to a Deactivated state.
Contacts in a deactivated program
Suppose you deactivate a program while contacts are still on their journey, then they remain stationary at the node they are at when you deactivate. If you eventually reactivate the program, the contacts continue on their journey from where they left off.
Reactivate a program
To reactivate a program, click Activate on the program toolbar. The program will need to have been saved and have no validation errors to be able to do this.
If the program has enrolled any contacts at any point whilst being active, then you'll also have the option to disable or resume enrolments from Utilities.