Link additional users in Dotdigital for Salesforce

Learn to link new Salesforce and Dotdigital user accounts.

Overview

The User Management area in Salesforce allows you to link additional Salesforce and Dotdigital users, as well as amend user permissions.

user_management.pngBefore you start

Things you need to know:

  • You need admin permissions in Salesforce to add or edit users.
  • Each Dotdigital user can only be linked to one Salesforce User.

Link users

To access the User Management area in Salesforce:

  1. Select the Configuration tab.
  2. Expand the Settings drop-down menu and select Manage users.
    config_manage_users.png
    A list of all users in the connected Dotdigital account is displayed.
  3. To connect a Dotdigital user to a Salesforce user, expand the Salesforce User drop-down menu, and select a user.
    If there are more than 500 users in your Salesforce organisation, the Salesforce User field will display as a text box rather than a drop-down menu. In this case, you need to enter the user's email address manually.
  4. Select Save.

If all Dotdigital account users have already been allocated, you must create a new user in Dotdigital.

To learn more, check out the article Add a user.

Change a linked user

If you want to change the link between a Salesforce user and a Dotdigital user:

  1. Select the Remove icon to the right of the Salesforce user.
  2. Expand the Salesforce User drop-down menu and choose a new user from the list.
  3. Select Save.

Linked user accounts are set as Active. If a user is deactivated, their access to Dotdigital will need to be re-established.

To learn more, check out the article Access Dotdigital as a Salesforce user.

User permissions in Salesforce

You can assign permissions to each user to control which tabs and buttons they can access, and what actions they can perform. Default permissions are applied based on the Permission set that a user is assigned, but you can edit the permissions if you need to.

The available permissions are:

  • Dotdigital Tab
  • Configuration Tab
  • Actions Button
  • Address Book Saving
  • Address Book Synchronising
  • Campaign Sending
  • Campaign Synchronisation
  • Dotdigital Account Linking
  • Address Book/Campaign Linking

To edit user permissions:

  1. Select the Configuration tab.
  2. Expand the Settings drop-down menu and select Manage users.
  3. Select the Edit icon next to the user.
  4. Select or clear the checkbox for a permission to assign or remove it.
    mceclip0.png
  5. Select Save.

If you try to access a system area or perform an action for which you don’t have the correct permissions, you see one of the following error messages:

System area Error message
Dotdigital tab Insufficient Privileges - You do not have the required permissions to access the Dotdigital Tab
Configuration tab Insufficient Privileges - You do not have access to the Connector Configuration Page
Configuration tab > Settings > Account settings You do not have permission to access this feature
Add Address Book You do not have permission to save address books
Synchronise Address Books You do not have permission to synchronise Email Address Books. Please contact an Administrator
Send Campaign Wizard You do not have permission to send Email Campaigns. Please contact an Administrator
Synchronise Email Campaigns You do not have permission to synchronise Email Campaigns. Please contact an Administrator
Configuration tab > Email Account Linking You do not have permission to link Email Accounts.
Campaigns tab > Link to Email Address Book Unable to create link(s). You do not have permission to link Campaigns and Email Address Books. Please contact an Administrator
Did you find this article helpful?

Can we help?

Thanks for using Dotdigital. If you need more help or support, then contact our support team.