Using the recycle bin

Learn how to recover and remove data from the recycle bin in your Engagement Cloud account.

Overview

When you delete some items in Engagement Cloud, they go into a 30 day recycle bin.

From the recycle bin, you can either restore or permanently delete any data already in the recycle bin before the 30-day limit is up. If you don't take any action, after 30-days we automatically delete the data in the recycle bin permanently.

Items put in the recycle bin

When deleted, these items go to the recycle bin:

  • Standard and Triggered campaigns
  • SMS campaigns
  • Contacts
  • Programs

Items not put in the recycle bin

You must be very careful when deleting these items as they do not go to the recycle bin after deletion:

  • Insight data
  • Folders
  • Segments
  • Address books
  • SMS contacts
  • Pages created from the Pages and forms feature
  • Surveys created from the Surveys and forms feature
  • Settings
  • Marketing preferences
  • Contact scoring rules
  • Scheduled tasks

Accessing the recycle bin

To access the recycle bin, your user account must have Can manage account permission.

To learn more about user permissions, check out .......


Getting to the recycle bin

To get to the recycle bin:

  1. Log in to your Engagement Cloud account.
  2. Select Settings from the left navigation.
  3. From the settings menu, select Recycle bin.

Recovering a deleted item

To recover an item from the recycle bin:

  1. Go to Settings > Recycle bin.
  2. Find the item you want to recover and select the check box.
  3. Select Recover.

Recovering all deleted items

To recover all items from the recycle bin:

1. Go to Settings > Recycle bin.
2. From the More actions drop-down menu, select Recover all.

Depending on your security settings, you might need to enter a password or verification code to restore your data.

Recovering campaigns

When recovering a single deleted campaign, we ask you to choose which folder you'd like to put the recovered campaign into. However, when you're recovering more than one campaign at the same time, you do not have this option.

Recovering contacts

Recovered contacts always go into the All contacts area, from there you can manually add them to any address books.


Permanently remove a deleted item

To permanently remove an item:

1. Go to Settings > Recycle bin.
2. Find the item you want to remove and select the check box.
3. Select Permanently remove.

Permanently remove all deleted items

To remove all items from the recycle bin:

1. Go to Settings > Recycle bin.
2. From the More actions drop-down menu, select Empty recycle bin.

Did you find this article helpful?

Can we help?

Thanks for using Engagement Cloud. If you need more help or support, then contact our support team.