Unsubscribing and suppressing contacts in Magento

Learn what happens when a contact unsubscribes from either the general newsletter subscription on your Magento site or a campaign sent directly from Engagement Cloud.

Unsubscribing with Magento

There are two possibilities for a contact getting unsubscribed from the general newsletter subscription on your Magento site.

  • The contact unsubscribes themselves
    To do this, they log in to their account on your site, go to Newsletter Subscriptions and clear the General Newsletter subscription check box.
  • You unsubscribe them from the Admin
    To do this, log in to your admin and update the contact record to Unsubscribed.

When the next sync happens, typically between 15 and 30 minutes, both these approaches remove the contact from the Subscribers address book.

Please note

These methods do not add the unsubscribed contact to the Engagement Cloud Suppression List – this means the unsubscribed contact’s details could stay within Engagement Cloud. To make sure you don't accidentally send to an unsubscribed contact, we recommend only sending campaigns to Magento contacts from the Subscribers address book.

 Unsubscribing from Engagement Cloud

There are various ways to unsubscribe or suppress a contact within Engagement Cloud.

  • The contact unsubscribes from within a campaign.
  • The contact's email address has previously hard bounced.
  • You add the contact's email address manually to the suppression list.
  • You add the contact's domain manually to the suppression list.

When the next sync happens, typically between 15 and 30 minutes, all these methods update the contact's subscriber status to Unsubscribed within the Magento newsletter_subscriber table.

Resubscribing an unsubscribed contact

After a contact is unsubscribed or suppressed within Engagement Cloud, they can not be imported back automatically. To resubscribe a contact into Engagement Cloud, you can manually add them in Engagement Cloud or update their subscription status on your site to Subscribed.

If you resubscribe a contact, we send an email to the contact for confirmation.
Did you find this article helpful?

Can we help?

Thanks for using Engagement Cloud. If you need more help or support, then contact our support team.