Deleting a suppressed contact differs from deleting a normal, unsuppressed contact because in most cases we need to retain the contact’s email address or mobile number in order to maintain the suppression - deleting a suppressed contact deletes only their associated data.
Before you start
Things you need to know:
Deleting a suppressed contact permanently removes their contact data fields and Insight data from your account (the data does not go to the recycle bin).
You can only delete a suppressed contact if they are suppressed at a contact level, meaning they are suppressed on all available channels.
If the suppressed contact you want to delete has an email address awaiting verification—in Pending status—this must be deleted before you can delete the suppressed contact’s data.
The email address or mobile number of the contact is kept in order to maintain the suppression. This is so you can't unintentionally contact the individual in future by accidentally re-importing them to your account, for example.
Any data related to this contact from the Pages and forms, surveys, or transactional email tools, if you use them, is not automatically removed. This data can be deleted separately.
Delete a suppressed contact
To delete a suppressed contact: