Unsubscribe with Shopify
You can unsubscribe a contact in Shopify from the Shopify admin by editing their Email Marketing status.
After you unsubscribe a contact in the Shopify admin, when the next sync happens, we add all newly subscribed contacts to your lists and remove any unsubscribed ones.
If you're using two-way sync, then unsubscribes can happen both ways. When you unsubscribe or subscribe a Shopify contact in Dotdigital, then the contact's accepts_marketing status is updated with the next sync.
Contacts are only removed from the subscribers’ list
Unsubscribing contacts in Shopify only removes the contact from the Subscribers list and doesn't add them to the Dotdigital suppression list. For this reason, the unsubscribed contact's details might remain in Dotdigital.
To avoid accidentally sending to an unsubscribed contact, only send campaigns to Shopify contacts using the Subscribers list.
Unsubscribe from Dotdigital
There are various ways to unsubscribe or suppress a contact in Dotdigital:
The contact unsubscribes from within a campaign.
The contact's email address has previously hard bounced.
You add the contact's email address manually to the suppression list.
Learn how in Suppress a contact.
You add the contact's domain manually to the suppression list.
Learn how in Suppressed contacts and domains.