Use the email campaign outbox

Learn how to use the email campaign outbox.

Overview

The outbox is where you can find any campaigns that are currently sending, or scheduled campaigns that are waiting for their allotted time to be sent. Once all the sends for a campaign are processed, the campaign moves from the outbox to the Sent section.

outbox.PNG

If you're only sending a campaign to a small number of contacts, you’re unlikely to see your campaign in the outbox as it will be processed too quickly.

Pause, stop or resume a campaign

You can pause, resume and stop campaigns from the outbox.

Pause a campaign

To pause a campaign:

  1. Go to Email campaigns > All campaigns, then select the Outbox tab.
  2. Locate the campaign you want to pause, and select the envelope icon in the Status column.
    Campaign_in_outbox_pause.PNG
  3. A window opens confirming that your campaign is paused. From this window you can:
    1. Resume your campaign
    2. Stop the campaign completely
    3. Close the window and leave the campaign in its paused state.

pause_or_cancel.PNG

Stop a campaign

To stop a campaign processing any further sends:

  1. Go to Email campaigns > All campaigns, then select the Outbox tab.
  2. Locate the campaign you want to stop, and select the envelope icon in the Status column.
  3. A window opens confirming that your campaign is paused. To cancel the campaign send, select STOP CAMPAIGN.
  4. A dialog box opens asking you to confirm that you want to stop the campaign, as you will not be able to resume it once stopped. To confirm, select OK.
    stop_send.PNG

When pausing or cancelling campaigns

  • It may take a few minutes for the campaign to become fully paused.
  • The numbers given for emails already sent and emails remaining in the Pause or cancel window are estimates. It is not possible to identify which contacts were sent the campaign before it was cancelled.
  • Emails already sent cannot be recalled.
  • Any emails already sent are chargeable.
  • Paused campaigns are cancelled if they aren't resumed within seven days of the expected send date.
  • Cancelled sends which have partially processed move to Sent campaigns.
  • Partial reporting may be available for a cancelled send, but the Emails sent figure shows the total number of contacts originally selected for the send, even if the send did not complete.

Resume a campaign

To resume a campaign that has been paused:

  1. Go to Email campaigns > All campaigns, then select the Outbox tab.
  2. Locate the paused campaign you want to resume, and select the envelope icon in the Status column.
    paused_campaign.PNG
  3. A dialog box opens asking you to confirm that you want to resume the campaign. To confirm, select OK.
    resume_sending.PNG

The option to pause, cancel or resume your campaign is also available from the More actions dropdown. Select the checkbox to the right of the campaign, then select More actions > Pause / cancel / resume.

Change scheduled send times

You can change the time or date of a campaign that you have previously scheduled from the outbox. To do this:

    1. Go to Email campaigns > All campaigns, then select the Outbox tab.
    2. Locate the campaign you want to reschedule, and select the envelope icon in the Status column to pause the send.
    3. A window opens confirming that your campaign is currently paused. To change the scheduled send time, select the pencil icon under Modify.
      Modify_scheduled_send.PNG
    4. Enter your new send time and then select CHANGE SEND TIME.modify_send.PNG
    5. On return to the Pause or cancel window, select RESUME CAMPAIGN to ensure that your campaign will send at the new time you have specified.
    6. To confirm that you wish to resume, select OK in the pop-up window.
Did you find this article helpful?

Can we help?

Thanks for using Dotdigital. If you need more help or support, then contact our support team.