Learn how to make sure all your campaigns are approved by an account owner before sending.
Our user permissions let you permit a user to design, build and schedule a campaign and, on completion, trigger an approval process that enables an account owner to authorise the send, or reject it with feedback for further revision.
Before you start
Things you need to know:
- Only account owners can approve campaigns before sending.
How campaign approval works
- A user that's been set up to require approval creates a campaign as usual, including the choice of address books and/or segments to send to, and then schedules it.
- On the campaign summary page, the user sees a button that says Ready to send pending approval. They then must select Send for approval, and then Confirm.
- The campaign is moved to the Outbox and an email is sent to the account owner, notifying them that a campaign is ready for review, providing a link to that campaign.
- The account owner reviews the campaign content, settings and contacts, and chooses whether to Approve & send immediately or to Decline. If the owner selects Decline they are asked to enter a reason for the decline. When completed, the account owner selects Confirm to send it back to the user.
If you don't have the campaign approval notification email
Don't worry! This link is available for a campaign from within the 'Outbox' tab. Just click on the Review, approve, or deny link alongside the campaign's name.
If the campaign is approved it will be sent as scheduled (if the scheduled date is in the past, it will be sent immediately). The originating user will be emailed to notify them that the campaign has been approved and sent.
If the campaign is declined it will be moved from the 'Outbox' tab and put back into the list of unsent campaigns, available for editing. The originating user will be emailed to notify them that the campaign needs more work (including the reasons specified by the account owner).
Set up a user for campaign approval
Users are added by the account owner. Once a user has been added, their permissions should be set as follows:
- Sender - Enable to allow the user to send campaigns.
This should be ticked.
- Can send without approval - Can send without approval (requires 'sender' permission to be active)
This should not be ticked.