Unsubscribe and suppress contacts in Magento

Learn what happens when a contact unsubscribes from either the general newsletter subscription on your Magento site or a campaign sent directly from Engagement Cloud.

Unsubscribe with Magento

There are two possibilities for a contact getting unsubscribed from the general newsletter subscription on your Magento site.

  • The contact unsubscribes themselves
    To do this, they log in to their account on your site, go to Newsletter Subscriptions and clear the General Newsletter subscription check box.
  • You unsubscribe them from the Admin
    To do this, log in to your admin and update the contact record to Unsubscribed.

When the next sync happens, typically between 15 and 30 minutes, both these approaches remove the contact from the Subscribers address book.

Contacts are only removed from the Subscribers address book

Unsubscribing contacts in Magento only removes the contact from the Subscribers address book and doesn't add them to the Engagement Cloud suppression list. For this reason, the unsubscribed contact's details could stay in Engagement Cloud. To avoid accidentally sending to an unsubscribed contact, only send campaigns to Magento contacts using the Subscribers address book.

 Unsubscribe from Engagement Cloud

Go to Email > Contacts > Suppressed contacts in Engagement Cloud. There are various ways to unsubscribe or suppress a contact:

  • The contact unsubscribes from within a campaign.
  • The contact's email address has previously hard bounced.
  • You add the contact's email address manually to the suppression list.
  • You add the contact's domain manually to the suppression list.

To learn more about contact suppressions, check out Understand email contact suppression reasons.

When the next sync happens, typically between 15 and 30 minutes, if the Date removed of the suppressed contact is more recent than the modified_date of the Magento subscriber, we don't resubscribe the customer, and we mark the subscriber as Unsubscribed. If the contact is already Unsubscribed, they are sent a resubscribe email. If the contact is Suppressed by you, we add them back to the account without sending a resubscribe email. After resubscription, contacts are added back to the relevant address books, for example, subscriber, guest, or customer.

Resubscribing an unsubscribed contact

After a contact is unsubscribed or suppressed within Engagement Cloud, they can not be imported back automatically. To resubscribe a contact into Engagement Cloud, you can manually add them in Engagement Cloud or update their subscription status on your site to Subscribed.

If you resubscribe a contact, we send an email to the contact for confirmation.
Did you find this article helpful?

Can we help?

Thanks for using Engagement Cloud. If you need more help or support, then contact our support team.