Restrict and grant user access permissions

Learn how to control your users’ permissions and access to accounts.

Overview

Users in your account can be granted different permissions based on their specific roles within your organisation. If you have multiple accounts, you can also grant or restrict access to each account individually.

Before you start

Things you need to know:

  • You must be an account owner, or a user with the Can manage account permission to edit other users’ permissions or account access.
  • To manage user access to accounts, you must be logged into the top level (parent) account.

User access to accounts

To restrict or grant access to separate accounts within your account structure:

  1. Go to Settings (⋮) > Your team.
    Your_team.PNG
  2. Select the email address of the user you want to edit.
  3. Under Settings, select the Accounts tab.
  4. Find the accounts you want the user to access and select Yes. To restrict access, select No.

    You can't save a new user without assigning them to at least one account.

    User_account_access.png
  5. Select SAVE.

User permissions

The process to add or remove permissions for a user will differ slightly based on the account level you are logged in to.

In a top level (parent) account

  1. Go to Settings (⋮) > Your team.
  2. Select the email address of the user you wish to edit.
  3. Under Settings, select the Default permissions tab.Permissions.png
  4. Use the Yes and No radio buttons to grant or restrict individual permissions for the user. You can hover over the tooltip icon to see a description of each permission.

    You can choose to give all or no permissions at once using the ALLOW ALL or ALLOW NONE buttons.

  5. Once you have made your changes, select SAVE.

In a secondary level (child) account

  1. Go to Settings (⋮) > Access.
    Access__child_account_.PNG
  2. Select the Edit icon to the right hand side of the user.
  3. Use the checkboxes under the Permission heading to grant or restrict each permission.

    You can select the All Permissions checkbox to immediately grant all permissions to the user.

  4. Once you have made your changes, select SAVE.

Understanding user permissions

Below you will find a list of each permission it is possible to grant to a user, and a description of what this permission allows.

Permission Description
Can create contacts Allows the user to create new contacts (including new SMS contacts in the SMS broadcast tool, which in turn allows use of the 'Send single message' functionality)
Can manage account Allows the user to edit account settings and view and pay invoices, as well as being able to set up other users on the account
Can send without approval Allows the user to send campaigns without needing approval (requires the Sender permission to also be enabled)
Can use broadcast SMS Allows the user to access, compose, send and report on SMS campaigns and send single SMS messages
Can use Chat Allows the user to access the Chat tool as an agent
Can use Pages and forms Allows the user access to the Pages and forms tool (note that the Contact exporter and Reporter permissions need to be enabled for a user to view and export Forms reporting)
Can use Surveys and forms Allows the user access to the surveys and forms tool (note that the Contact exporter and Reporter permissions need to be enabled for a user to view and export Survey reporting)
Contact exporter Allows the user to export contacts, as well as export campaign reports and Pages and forms responses (requires the Contacts permission to also be enabled)
Contacts Allows the user access to the contact section and view email addresses across the platform
Ecommerce Allows the user to view and access the Ecommerce area
Edit campaigns Allows the user to edit campaigns
Integration hub Allows the user to access the Integration hub
Programs Allows the user access to the automated programs feature
Reporter Allows the user to view reporting and access Channel management
Reporting drill down Allows the user to drill down into reporting (requires the Reporter permission to also be enabled)
Sender Allows the user to send campaigns, and their campaigns will go to the outbox to await approval from the primary account owner (to send without the need for approval, they'll also need the Can send without approval permission enabled)
Template administrator Allows the user to administer the template library (requires the Edit campaigns permission to also be enabled)
Did you find this article helpful?

Can we help?

Thanks for using Dotdigital. If you need more help or support, then contact our support team.