Customise the double opt-in confirmation email

Learn how to set a triggered campaign as your double opt-in confirmation email.

Overview

If you have chosen to enforce double opt-in on your account, then when your contacts sign up (or are imported, depending on your settings) they are sent a verified double opt-in confirmation email. Once they click the double opt-in link in this email to complete the verification process, the contacts are added to your account.

By default, a system email is used for this purpose. You can preview this email by going to Contacts > Advanced features, and then the Subscription settings tab, and selecting Preview.

doi_system_email_2.pngYou are able to add your logo to this default email, but if you want to further customise the double opt-in confirmation email, then you can instead design and choose a triggered campaign. This allows you to add your branding and your own wording to the email, so a recipient can easily recognise that the email has come from you.

Set a triggered campaign as your confirmation email

Unsupported content

External dynamic content and advanced personalisation can't be used in triggered campaigns for confirmation emails.

To turn on a custom double opt-in confirmation email:

  1. Create a triggered campaign that you want to use as your double opt-in confirmation email.

    To learn how to create a triggered campaign check out the Create a triggered campaign article.

  2. Select Link in the toolbar and insert a Double opt-in link.

    To learn how to insert a Double opt-in link to your campaign check out the Add a double opt-in link section.

  3. Select Save & continue.
  4. Select Generate plain text version to create the plain text version of your email with the double opt-in link.
  5. Select Save & continue or Save again.
  6. Go to Contacts > Advanced features and then the Subscription settings tab, and in the Double opt-in settings section, select the triggered campaign you created.

    You can also set a resubscribe action to either Show some text or Go to a page of your choosing (either your own URL or a landing page) once the contact has clicked the double opt-in confirmation link.

  7. Select Save.

Contacts are then sent your customised double opt-in confirmation email instead of the default one. You can change back to the default email at any time.

An account can make use of one custom double opt-in confirmation email at a time. All double opt-in confirmation emails sent from the account will use the triggered campaign you selected in the Resubscribe settings section (under Contacts > Advanced features and then Subscription settings).

Did you find this article helpful?

Can we help?

Thanks for using Dotdigital. If you need more help or support, then contact our support team.