Learn to delete a contact using the Chat interface.
When you delete a contact using the chat interface, we remove the user from the whole of your account using our contact deletion protocol.
Deleting a contact
To delete a contact from your account using the chat interface:
- On the chat interface, click the chat session of the contact you want to delete – this opens the chat window.
- Click the Contact actions drop-down menu in the right column of the chat window.
- Click Delete contact.
- Read the warning message, confirm, and click Delete. If you change your mind, click Cancel.
After a contact is deleted
Deleting a named contact moves them to the recycle bin for 30-days, after which we remove them entirely from your account. If you accidentally delete a contact, you can get them back from the recycle bin any time within the 30-day window – unless, you remove them from the recycle bin manually.
If you delete an anonymous contact, we remove them permanently without using the recycle bin. There is no way to get an anonymous contact back.
To find the Recycle bin, go to Settings (⋮) > Recycle bin.