Whereas you can delete address books from your account by selecting them and clicking Delete, the contacts will remain in your 'All contacts' address book (your master address book).
However, what if you want to delete the address book(s) and the contacts from your account entirely, as you no longer require the data? This can be done in one action.
Steps to delete selected address books and all contained contacts
To delete selected address books and all contained contacts from your account:
- Select Contacts from the navigation bar to list your address books and tick the checkboxes to the left to select which address books and contained contacts are to be deleted
- Click on More actions and select Delete selected contacts and address books from your account
- A box will display to inform you that deleted contacts will be moved to the recycle bin for 30 days, after which their data will be permanently removed. Before clicking Delete to commit the action, you'll also be asked to confirm that you understand that:
- Deleted contacts will be removed from the address books and segments they're currently in
- Undeleting contacts will not put them back in the address books they were in (they will only get added back to 'All contacts')
- Deleted contacts are not unsubscribed, and if they're re-added to your account then they may receive campaigns. (If contacts don't want to receive campaigns, you should unsubscribe them instead.)