User access and permissions

Seeing the 'Your team' option?

This means you're a top account owner and you don't belong to any other account. In this case, go to Managing your team to read about restricting access to users.

Contents

Adding a user
Restricting user access
Disabling a managed user

Summary

You're able to add extra users to the system under the control of your account, enabling you to manage them and ascribe them various permissions. This is useful to allow a number of people within your team to use one centrally managed account without having to sign up for multiple full accounts. If you have users that you manage, then you'll probably want to restrict their access within your account. In the Users section, you can do this by setting and editing their permissions.  

Adding a user

Important

You can add new users only if you are an account owner or if you are a user with the 'Can manage account' permission.

To add users to the system, click on the person-and-cog icon in the bottom left corner of the screen to produce the settings menu. Select the Access option.

MA_select_access.png

The screen displayed will detail any users with access to the system.

MA_access_users_listing.png

Click on the New user button to display the screen that allows you to add a new user's email address and set their permissions.

MA_add_user_permissions.png

The permissions are:

  • All permissions - Ticking this will give a user every permission available, as listed below (hence they'll all become ticked)
  • Can create contacts - Allows the user to create new contacts (including new SMS contacts in the SMS broadcast tool, which in turn allows use of the 'Send single message' functionality)
  • Can manage account - Allows the user to edit account settings an view and pay invoice, as well as being able to set up other users on the account
  • Can send without approval - Allows the user to send campaigns without needing approval (this requires the 'Sender' permission to also be enabled to work)
  • Can use broadcast SMS - Allows the user to access, compose, send and report on SMS campaigns and send single SMS messages 
  • Can use pages and forms - Allows the user access to the pages and forms tool
  • Can use Surveys and forms - Allows the user access to the surveys and forms tool (note that the 'Contact exporter' and 'Reporter' permissions need to be enabled for a user to view and export survey reporting)
  • Contact exporter - Allows the user to export contacts, as well as export campaign reports and surveys an forms responses (this requires the 'Contacts' permission to also be enabled to work)
  • Contacts - Allows the user access to the contact section and view emails across the site
  • Ecommerce - Allows the user to view and access the ecommerce channel.
  • Edit campaigns - Allows the user to edit campaigns
  • Programs - Allows the user access to the automated programs feature
  • Reporter - Allows the user to view reporting
  • Report drill down - Allows the user to drill down into the reports (this requires the 'Reporter' permission to also be enabled to work
  • Sender - Allows the user to send campaigns, and their campaigns will go to the outbox to await approval (LINK) from the primary account owner. To send without the need for approval, they'll also need the 'Can send without approval' permission enabled.
  • Template administrator - Allows the user to administer the template library (this required the 'Edit campaigns' permission to also be enabled to work)

When ready, click on the Save button to update the user's permissions.

You will be informed that the added user has been sent an invite to join your account.

MA_user_invite_sent.png

The invited user will need to click on the link in the email they receive within 24 hours and complete the details they're asked to provide, after which they'll be displayed in your list of users.

If an invite expires, you can re-invite the user again.

Please note, if you have access to two or more accounts, you can switch between them without having to log out.

You just need to click on the 'Select account' icon in the left side navigation bar.

MA_switch_user_account.png

If you can't see it, it's because you only have access to one account. 

Restricting user access

To control which users have access to which functions, click on the person-and-cog icon in the bottom left corner of the screen and select Access from the settings menu that appears.

CP_select_access.png

The screen displayed will detail any users with access to the system.

CP_access_users_listing.png

Click the Edit pencil icon next to the user of choice to change that user's settings, or click on the New user button to add a new user.

The 'Manage user' screen is displayed for the selected user (or 'Add a user' when creating a new user). The lower part of this screen lists the permissions the user currently has access to, indicated by 'Yes' and 'No' columns, which contain radio buttons.

Tick or untick the checkboxes to allow or restrict access as deemed appropriate.

You can mouse over the tooltips for a summary of each permission, or refer back to the list in this article.

MA_manage_user_permissions.png

Disabling a managed user

If you want to disable a user entirely (which will prevent them logging into the account), then select the Disabled radio button and click Save. The account will be disabled.

To re-enable, simply select the Enabled radio button again and click Save.

You may also find the following article useful, as it focuses on a user's campaign sending permissions:

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments